Thursday, March 8, 2018

0 Alexandra Monir, author of THE FINAL SIX, on switching from pantser to plotter

We're pleased to have Alexandra Monir here to give us the scoop on her latest novel, THE FINAL SIX.

Alexandra, what was your inspiration for writing THE FINAL SIX?

The idea came to me around the same time that the hypothetical Mars One mission was in the news. I was listening to a radio interview with an aspiring astronaut, who had applied to be a candidate for this experimental mission to Mars, and that's when the idea just hit me like a ton of bricks: what if the conditions on Earth were to make this kind of quest no longer voluntary--but an urgent, government-mandated mission, with a military-style draft? And what if the people most likely to survive such a mission, and remain fertile by the time the new planet is terraformed and ready for a human population, are the teenagers? Those were the two big ideas that came to me all in the span of a few minutes, and changed the course of my next few years in a really exciting way!

What book or books would most resonate with readers who love your book--or visa versa?

I think THE FINAL SIX is just right for fans of Beth Revis's Across the Universe series and Romina Russell's Zodiac series. That's actually why I asked them to blurb the book- so you can probably imagine how thrilled I was when they both liked it enough to say yes!

How long did you work on THE FINAL SIX?

It was about four months of outlining and drafting, and then another couple months of revising with my editor.

What did this book teach you about writing or about yourself?

Before this book, I'd been very much a pantser. But with such an involved plot, I knew I needed to outline- and I ended up writing a super-detailed one too, at over 50 pages! That outline served me so well, I've decided I'm officially a plotter. :)


The Final Six
by Alexandra Monir
Released 3/6/2018

When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with twenty-two of the world’s brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa—Jupiter’s moon—and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders.

For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts onboard. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa’s surface.

In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo’s relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter.

But it’s only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.

Purchase The Final Six at Amazon
Purchase The Final Six at IndieBound
View The Final Six on Goodreads


Alexandra Monir is an Iranian-American young adult novelist and recording artist. She often integrates music into her work by writing and recording original songs that are released in tandem with her books. She lives in Los Angeles and frequently speaks at schools, book festivals and fan conventions across the country.

Visit her website:, follow her on Twitter:
@TimelessAlex, Facebook: @AlexandraMonirAuthor, and Instagram:


Have you had a chance to read THE FINAL SIX yet? Have you had a story inspired by listening to a radio interview? Are you a pantser or a plotter? Share your thoughts about the interview in the comments!

Happy Reading,

Jocelyn, Halli, Martina, Anisaa, Charlotte, Erin, Susan, Shelly, Kelly, Laura, Emily, and Lori Ann

No comments:

Post a Comment

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)