Tuesday, August 22, 2017

2 DIY for Booklovers and TWO New Books . . .

It's a busy week this week. Lots of stuff going on both personally and professionally. I have TWO books out this week, which is kind of awesome. And I am getting my official hearing aid on Thursday, which is not terribly awesome, because it means that we are officially giving up on the hearing coming back. I've been told there's a lot of grief and depression that's supposed to be accompanying that, but fortunately, I've been a bit too swamped to have time to think about it. It might well all hit me together at once.  Or maybe it's part of everything that's been going on. I literally had a panic attack last night for the first time since my son had surgery as a baby. (And yes, books are babies, too, but I don't usually react like this) Just trust me, everything that can go wrong seems to be going wrong.

However, what's been 100% right is all the wonderful support I'm getting from readers and reviewers, and you guys are incredible! I'm sending you hugs and hugs and hugs!


For Romance Readers . . . 


Celtic Romantic Suspense
with a Touch of Myth and Magic


The new stand-alone book in my Celtic Legends Collection is out early today on Amazon and will be available shortly in ebook, tradepaperback, and hardcover everywhere else. ! It's been a journey with this one. Between losing the hearing in my right ear (nope, no improvement), getting kids through summer and off to school, and traveling to Jordan, Oman, Jerusalem, Egypt, Greece, and Italy--not to mention Florida, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Illinois--it's been a struggle. But it's done, and I'm excited to share it with you. . . .

An island castle in Cornwall, a handsome kilt-wearing chef, a legendary bell, and dangerous secrets cook up the perfect recipe for heartwarming romance and suspense for fans of Poldark, Nora Roberts, Susanna Kearsley, Sarah Addison Allen, Susan Wiggs, and Susan Mallery.


Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo

For Young Adult Readers



Southern Gothic Romance and Fantasy


The final book release of the Heirs of Watson Island trilogy! This is such a bittersweet moment for me. The end of three years of this series, and it's hard to say goodbye to Eight and Barrie.

If you'd like a signed or personalized copy of any of the books, I'll be at One More Page on 9/17/17 with two of my favorite New York Times bestselling authors, Jodi Meadows and Lisa Maxwell, helping Jodi celebrate the launch of BEFORE SHE IGNITES, her incredible new fantasy series featuring danger, drama, and dragons! One More Page is happy to ship signed books!


Amazon | Barnes & Noble



For Writers

Writing is a bit like cooking. Anyone can do it adequately if they follow a recipe. But where’s the fun in that?   The magic happens when we let our creativity loose—add a pinch of this, a hint of that.

The magic is my favorite aspect of the creative process. No, I don’t mean the bits of magical realism that I add into all my books, I’m talking about the role that muses or miracles play in creating unexpected connections between separate aspects of the story.

When I started BELL OF ETERNITY, for example, I had no idea I was going to end up with an island that has a slightly magical lifesaving tradition that goes back thousands of years--or even a cat who warns of shipwrecks. It all came a piece at a time like a giant puzzle while I was writing, and then suddenly as I finished the book, it was just all there.

That’s the true joy and terror of writing. If you stick to the recipe, you’ll miss out on a lot of opportunities. Sometimes, you just have to take a leap of faith.
“Jump and you will find out how to unfurl your wings as you fall.”
Ray Bradbury

I suspect that Bradbury quote applies to life in general as much as it applies to the creative life, but if you're writing, I hope you're finding your own magic and creative connections. Sometimes you just have to jump! 

DIY For Book Lovers

2 comments:

  1. I am SOOOO late to the party being stuck in my cave this last few months, but oh my gosh, CONGRATS! I am so happy for you, and selfishly, for me, too as I loved book 1 so much I held off reading book 2 because I knew I couldn't bear to wait the long slow process of book 3 to come out. Ah, the joy of a series. Truly I can't wait to read the rest of the story. You are such a master storyteller, Martina!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Congratulations!! Looking forward to reading both of your new books!

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)