Saturday, July 29, 2017

0 Kara Thomas, author of LITTLE MONSTERS, on her desk looking like a conspiracy board

We are excited to have Kara Thomas join us to share more about her latest novel, LITTLE MONSTERS.

Kara, what was your inspiration for writing LITTLE MONSTERS?

I’ve always been fascinated by the complicated nature of friendships between teenage girls. In high school, I saw a lot of toxic relationships. I think it’s very easy to be manipulated when you want to be well-liked. That’s how I came up with the idea for a girl named Kacey, who is so lost and lonely that she falls into a friendship with two girls who aren’t what they appear. And since I’m a mystery writer, of course a murder and a disappearance are involved.

What book or books would most resonate with readers who love your book--or visa versa?

The thrillers that have most resonated with me are Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn and Gone Baby Gone by Dennis Lehane. Both made me realize that I wanted to write mysteries with conflicted protagonists. I love how these books look at the messy dynamics of family, and present moral dilemmas for the main character and the reader. I think readers who enjoyed Little Monsters and The Darkest Corners would appreciate the two books I just mentioned. As for YA books, some mysteries that I love are Pointe by Brandy Colbert, Never Missing, Never Found by Amanda Panitch, and Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas.

What's your writing ritual like? Do you listen to music? Work at home or at a coffee shop or the library, etc?

I work at home in my office, and I write every day. Some days are much more productive than others— if I’m stuck on a plot point I have to spend time outlining. I joke that my desk looks sort of like the conspiracy board in Homeland. I have a bunch of different colored gel pens that I use to write down and connect clues, characters, and plot twists.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Little Monsters
by Kara Thomas
Hardcover
Delacorte Press
Released 7/25/2017

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Purchase Little Monsters at Amazon
Purchase Little Monsters at IndieBound
View Little Monsters on Goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

i-9McW7jT-XLKara is the author of the critically acclaimed THE DARKEST CORNERS. Her new book, LITTLE MONSTERS, is coming July 25th from Random House/Delacorte. She’s written for everything from her high school newspaper to Warner Brothers Television. You can find her on Long Island, bingeing on true crime podcasts and TV shows.

---

Have you had a chance to read LITTLE MONSTERS yet? Do you think mystery/thrillers involving high school girl relationships are even more complicated than others? How do you keep track of all the different aspects of your mystery novel? Share your thoughts about the interview in the comments!

Happy reading,

Emily, Jocelyn, Anisaa, Sam, Martina, Erin, Susan, Shelly, Kelly, Laura, and Lori Ann

No comments:

Post a Comment

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)