Monday, April 24, 2017

5 New Releases this week 4/24-2/30 plus 3 Giveaways

Happy Monday! This week, we have three different books up for giveaway, THE WONDER OF US, LOOKING FOR GROUP and THE WHOLE THING TOGETHER. We're also featuring a few more awesome books so don't forget to check out all of them below.

Happy Reading,

Shelly, Sam, Jocelyn, Martina, Erin, Susan, Kelly, Laura, Emily, Anisaa, and Lori Ann



YA BOOK GIVEAWAYS THIS WEEK


* * * *


The Wonder of Us
by Kim Culbertson
Signed Hardcover Giveaway
U.S. Only

Point
Released 4/25/2017

Riya and Abby are:
Best friends.
Complete opposites.
Living on different continents.
Currently mad at each other.
About to travel around Europe.

Riya moved to Berlin, Germany, with her family for junior year, while Abby stayed behind in their small California town. They thought it would be easy to keep up their friendship--it's only a year and they've been best friends since preschool. But instead, they ended up fighting and not being there for the other. So Riya proposes an epic adventure to fix their friendship. Two weeks, six countries, unimaginable fun. But two small catches:

They haven't talked in weeks.
They've both been keeping secrets.

Can Riya and Abby find their way back to each other among lush countrysides and dazzling cities, or does growing up mean growing apart?

Author Question: What is your favorite thing about The Wonder of Us?

I knew that I wanted my next book to be about friendship. Every book I write is a love story in some way, and I think for many young people, the friends in their lives become their first great loves outside of their own family. I wanted to explore what happened when one such friendship, a deep and long-lasting childhood friendship, suddenly found itself disintegrating. The book explores how a friendship must evolve and change if it wants to survive. The book is also very much about how travel takes us outside ourselves and forces us to hold up our own problems and heartbreaks against the backdrop of an enormous world full of problems and heartbreaks.

Purchase The Wonder of Us at Amazon
Purchase The Wonder of Us at IndieBound
View The Wonder of Us on Goodreads



* * * *


Looking for Group
by Rory Harrison
Hardcover Giveaway (2 Copies)
U.S. Only

HarperTeen
Released 4/25/2017

Thelma & Louise meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in a brave, timely YA about two teens who embark on a cross-country road trip.

Dylan doesn’t have a lot of experience with comfort. His room in the falling-down Village Estates can generously be categorized as “squalid,” and he sure as hell isn’t getting any love from his mother, who seemed to—no, definitely did—enjoy the perks that went along with being the parent of a “cancer kid.”

His only escape has been in the form of his favorite video game—World of Warcraft—and the one true friend who makes him feel understood, even if it is just online: Nuba. And now that Dylan is suddenly in remission, he wants to take Nuba on a real mission, one he never thought he’d live to set out on: a journey to a mysterious ship in the middle of the Salton Sea.

But Nuba—real-life name Arden—is fighting her own battles, ones that Dylan can’t always help her win. As they navigate their way west, they grapple with Nuba’s father (who refuses to recognize his daughter’s true gender), Dylan’s addiction, and the messy, complicated romance fighting so hard to blossom through the cracks of their battle-hardened hearts.

Author Question: What is your favorite thing about Looking for Group?

I love that Dylan and Arden can be emotionally open with each other. I think we spend a lot of time being polite and trying not to make others uncomfortable. That means so many people are lost and hurting and confused and feel alone even in a crowd. Dylan and Arden may struggle to make conversation sometimes, but their fear and joy, anger and curiosity are all on the surface for each other. Together, they can surrender their polite lies-- and find out who they really are.

Purchase Looking for Group at Amazon
Purchase Looking for Group at IndieBound
View Looking for Group on Goodreads

* * * *


The Whole Thing Together
by Ann Brashares
Hardcover Giveaway
U.S. Only

Delacorte Press
Released 4/25/2017

Summer for Sasha and Ray means the sprawling old house on Long Island. Since they were children, they’ve shared almost everything—reading the same books, running down the same sandy footpaths to the beach, eating peaches from the same market, laughing around the same sun-soaked dining table. Even sleeping in the same bed, on the very same worn cotton sheets. But they’ve never met.

Sasha’s dad was once married to Ray’s mom, and together they had three daughters: Emma, the perfectionist; Mattie, the beauty; and Quinn, the favorite. But the marriage crumbled and the bitterness lingered. Now there are two new families—and neither one will give up the beach house that holds the memories, happy and sad, of summers past.

The choices we make come back to haunt us; the effect on our destinies ripples out of our control…or does it? This summer, the lives of Sasha, Ray, and their siblings intersect in ways none of them ever dreamed, in a novel about family relationships, keeping secrets, and most of all, love.

Author Question: What is your favorite thing about The Whole Thing Together?

I like that it's a story about a family. It's an unconventional family and it's also an unconventional YA in that it involves characters of all ages. I really enjoyed writing all those people. Every family has its own unique ecosystem, and it was an intriguing challenge to discover the particular feel of this domestic sprawl.

Purchase The Whole Thing Together at Amazon
Purchase The Whole Thing Together at IndieBound
View The Whole Thing Together on Goodreads


YA BOOK GIVEAWAYS LAST WEEK: WINNERS


Missing by Kelley Armstrong: Catherine C.
The Adjustment by Suzanne Young: Danielle G.

MORE YOUNG ADULT FICTION IN STORES NEXT WEEK WITH AUTHOR INTERVIEWS


* * * *


Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery
by Melanie Fishbane
Hardcover
Penguin Teen
Released 4/25/2017

For the first time ever, a young adult novel about the teen years of L.M. Montgomery, the author who brought us ANNE OF GREEN GABLES.

Fourteen-year-old Lucy Maud Montgomery — Maud to her friends — has a dream: to go to college and become a writer, just like her idol, Louisa May Alcott. But living with her grandparents on Prince Edward Island, she worries that this dream will never come true. Her grandfather has strong opinions about a woman's place in the world, and they do not include spending good money on college. Luckily, she has a teacher to believe in her, and good friends to support her, including Nate, the Baptist minister's stepson and the smartest boy in the class. If only he weren't a Baptist; her Presbyterian grandparents would never approve. Then again, Maud isn't sure she wants to settle down with a boy — her dreams of being a writer are much more important.

But life changes for Maud when she goes out West to live with her father and his new wife and daughter. Her new home offers her another chance at love, as well as attending school, but tensions increase as Maud discovers her stepmother's plans for her, which threaten Maud's future — and her happiness forever.

Author Question: What is your favorite thing about Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery?

That is a very interesting question! Probably that it exists in this world and not in my head. ☺

I would also say that the book design is just beautiful. Lisa Jager did a fantastic job. A lovely touch is how she put leafs under the dedication to my grandfather. That meant a lot.


Purchase Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery at Amazon
Purchase Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery at IndieBound
View Maud: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery on Goodreads


MORE YOUNG ADULT NOVELS NEW IN STORES NEXT WEEK


* * * *


Lucky Girl
by Amanda Maciel
Hardcover
Balzer + Bray
Released 4/25/2017

Lucky Girl is an unflinching exploration of beauty, sexual assault, and self-worth, from the author of the acclaimed novel Tease. Perfect for readers of Sara Zarr and Courtney Summers.

Being a pretty girl is who Rosie is, but it’s the start of a new school year and she wants to be more. Namely, she’s determined to be better to her best friend, Maddie, who’s just back from a summer program abroad having totally blossomed into her own looks. Rosie isn’t thrilled when Maddie connects with a football player who Rosie was hooking up with—but if it makes her friend happy, she’s prepared to move on. Plus someone even more interesting has moved to town: Alex, who recently garnered public attention after he stopped a classmate from carrying out a shooting rampage at his old high school. Rosie is drawn to Alex in a way she’s never really experienced for a boy before—and she is surprised to discover that, unlike every other guy, he seems to see more to her than her beauty.

Then one night, in the midst of a devastating storm, Rosie suffers an assault that tears apart her life and friendship with Maddie. Forced to face uncomfortable truths about beauty, reputation, and what it really means to be a friend, Rosie realizes that change doesn’t always happen the way you want it to—every disaster has consequences. But with a lot of help and the right people around you, there might also be a way forward.

Purchase Lucky Girl at Amazon
Purchase Lucky Girl at IndieBound
View Lucky Girl on Goodreads

* * * *


Saint Death
by Marcus Sedgwick
Hardcover
Roaring Brook Press
Released 4/25/2017

A propulsive, compelling, and unsparing novel set in the grimly violent world of the human and drug trade on the US-Mexican border.

On the outskirts of Juarez, Arturo scrapes together a living working odd jobs and staying out of sight. But his friend Faustino is in trouble: he's stolen money from the narcos to smuggle his girlfriend and her baby into the US, and needs Arturo's help to get it back. To help his friend, Arturo must face the remorseless world of drug and human traffickers that surrounds him, and contend with a murky past.

Hovering over his story is the unsparing divinity Santa Muerte, Saint Death--and the relentless economic and social inequalities that haunt the border between Mexico and its rich northern neighbor. Crafted with poetry and cinematic pace and narrated with cold fury, Saint Death is a provocative tour de force from three-time Printz Award honoree Marcus Sedgwick.

Purchase Saint Death at Amazon
Purchase Saint Death at IndieBound
View Saint Death on Goodreads

* * * *


Sunkissed
by Jenny McLachlan
Hardcover
Feiwel & Friends
Released 4/25/2017

Kat can't believe her family is sending her to Sweden for the summer. But without her friends Bea and Betty, or even a phone signal, can Kat make it on her own?

In a land of saunas and summer sun, Kat soon realizes she has nowhere to hide. It's time to let go of what she thinks people want her to be, so she can embrace who she really is. Especially if she's going to win the heart of the cute Swede Leo.

Kat soon finds that when you're surrounded by phosphorescence and wonder it's easy to sparkle. Or maybe you only shine when you're true to yourself.

Purchase Sunkissed at Amazon
Purchase Sunkissed at IndieBound
View Sunkissed on Goodreads


5 comments:

  1. Thanks for the update on new books. I'm making my summer reading list.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can't wait to read Megan Whalen Turner's newest book!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. They all look good, but The Whole Thing Together really captures my interest. Thanks for the post.

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)