Sunday, September 4, 2016

0 Kathleen Glasgow, author of GIRL IN PIECES, on writing as a way to reach out to others

We're excited to have Kathleen Glasgow here to give us more info about her debut novel GIRL IN PIECES.

Kathleen, what book or books would most resonate with readers who love your book—or vice versa?

If books like All the Rage, Speak, Wintergirls, All the Bright Places, The Serpent King, The First Time She Drowned, Thirteen Reasons Why, What We Saw, Asking for It, or Girl, Interrupted were books that tore your heart and earned a place in the library of your soul, then Girl in Pieces is for you. Like those books, I don’t pull any punches when I talk about the hard stuff of growing up, or what it feels like to be lonely. But also like those books: there is hope, there is laughter, there is a ladder out.

What was your inspiration for writing GIRL IN PIECES?

I realized I was going to write the book I didn’t really want to write when I saw a girl on the bus with scars like mine and I didn’t reach out to her. This book is me reaching out to her, and to all the boys and girls with scars inside and out.



What's your writing ritual like? Do you listen to music? Work at home or at a coffee shop or the library, etc?

I find writing rituals endless fascinating. Each and every time I sit down to write I think about how Colm Toibin writes in a really, really, really hard and uncomfortable chair—the lack of comfort makes him work harder, and on a different emotional level. I don’t do that! I write in a variety of places. I have a desk at home with a thrift-store rolly chair, but I also write in libraries at least twice a week. They are my home. Books are my friends. I like looking around and seeing them, everywhere. Also, libraries are great for people-watching. And for stumbling upon weird stuff in the stacks that somehow make it into your books. Like, um, llama farms. Not that I would know anything about that. No. Not me.

Is there a scene that you particularly love?

I had THE BEST time thinking up the song lyrics for all the bands and singers in the book. I had to think up lyrics for coffee shop punk bands, a strong young female singer in a tattered dress, and for Riley’s band, Long Home. The name of Riley’s band is a nod to one of my favorite writers, William Gay. Also! Writing about the music video of Riley’s band and trying to imagine what that would be. (Hint: checkered shirts and girls in Daisy Dukes and pickup truck.)

ABOUT THE BOOK


Girl in Pieces
by Kathleen Glasgow
Hardcover
Delacorte Press
Released 8/30/2016

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

Purchase Girl in Pieces at Amazon
Purchase Girl in Pieces at IndieBound
View Girl in Pieces on Goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kathleen Glasgow lives in Tucson, Arizona and writes for The Writer's Almanac with Garrison Keillor, which means she could probably entertain you for hours with quirky tidbits about the lives of dead writers. She likes Tyrion and Shireen, musty old paperbacks from used bookstores that have cats wandering the aisles, cheesecake, coffee, and the Isle of Skye. Visit her on Twitter (@kathglasgow), Instagram (misskathleenglasgow), Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/KathleenGlas...) or her website (www.kathleenglasgowbooks.com).

--

Have you had a chance to read GIRL IN PIECES yet? Have you written a book you didn't want to write? Do you think writing in an uncomfortable chair would help your work? Share your thoughts about the interview in the comments!

Happy reading,

Jocelyn, Shelly, Martina, Anisaa, Sam, Erin, Susan, Michelle, Laura, and Kristin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)