Monday, July 18, 2016

10 New Releases this week 7/18-7/24 plus TWO Giveaways

Hey everyone, hope you're having a great July! Up for grabs this week are two awesome books: A WORLD WITHOUT YOU and LITTLE BLACK DRESSES, LITTLE WHITE LIES. Don't forget to check out all the cool releases.

Happy Reading,

Shelly, Lindsey, Martina, Jocelyn, Erin, Susan, Sam, Sarah, Sandra, Kristin, and Anisaa


YA BOOK GIVEAWAYS THIS WEEK


* * * *


A World Without You
by Beth Revis
Hardcover Giveaway
U.S. Only

Razorbill
Released 7/19/2016

Seventeen-year-old Bo has always had delusions that he can travel through time. When he was ten, Bo claimed to have witnessed the Titanic hit an iceberg, and at fifteen, he found himself on a Civil War battlefield, horrified by the bodies surrounding him. So when his concerned parents send him to a school for troubled youth, Bo assumes he knows the truth: that he’s actually attending Berkshire Academy, a school for kids who, like Bo, have "superpowers."

At Berkshire, Bo falls in love with Sofia, a quiet girl with a tragic past and the superpower of invisibility. Sofia helps Bo open up in a way he never has before. In turn, Bo provides comfort to Sofia, who lost her mother and two sisters at a very young age.

But even the strength of their love isn’t enough to help Sofia escape her deep depression. After she commits suicide, Bo is convinced that she's not actually dead. He believes that she's stuck somewhere in time — that he somehow left her in the past, and now it's his job to save her.

Author Question: What is your favorite thing about A World Without You?

This is the truest book I've ever written. It's still fiction, yes, but it's true--at least to me. It's the story of a boy who thinks he can travel through time and must save his girlfriend stuck in the past...but then discovers that the school for superheroes he thinks he's attending is actually a mental asylum. But it's also the story of family, and my hero's family ended up paralleling my own family in many ways. Like the sister in the book, I had a brother with mental issues, and like the family in the story, my own family had to learn how to remain whole despite the cracks and strain of a sick member whose illness wasn't visible. This story became a story of truth, and that, to me, is my favorite thing.

Purchase A World Without You at Amazon
Purchase A World Without You at IndieBound
View A World Without You on Goodreads



* * * *


Little Black Dresses, Little White Lies
by Laura Stampler
Hardcover Giveaway
U.S. Only

Simon Pulse
Released 7/19/2016

Harper Anderson always believed she belonged somewhere more glamorous than her sleepy Northern California suburb. After all, how many water polo matches and lame parties in Bobby McKittrick's backyard can one girl take? That's why Harper is beyond ecstatic when she lands her dream internship as a dating blogger at the elite teen magazine Shift. Getting to spend the summer in New York City to live her dream of becoming a writer? Harper's totally in.

There's just one teeny, tiny, infinitesimal problem: Apart from some dance floor make-outs, Harper doesn't have a lot of - or, really, any - dating expertise. In fact, she might have sort of stolen her best friend's experiences as her own on her Shift application. But she can learn on the job...right?

From awkward run-ins with the cute neighborhood dog-walker to terrifying encounters with her crazed editor, from Brooklyn gallery openings to weekends in the Hamptons, Harper finds out what it takes to make it in the Big City--and as the writer of her own destiny.

Purchase Little Black Dresses, Little White Lies at Amazon
Purchase Little Black Dresses, Little White Lies at IndieBound
View Little Black Dresses, Little White Lies on Goodreads

MORE YOUNG ADULT NOVELS NEW IN STORES NEXT WEEK


* * * *


Chasing Stars
by Helen Douglas
Hardcover
Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Released 7/19/2016

A love story that spans generations and time continues in this captivating tale that's perfect for fans of A Thousand Pieces of You.

Hunted down by a ruthless "cleaner" from the future, star-crossed lovers Eden and Ryan have been forced to travel a hundred years forward to 2123. Ryan has broken fundamental laws of time for them to be together, and now they face his trial and permanent imprisonment . . . and a life without each other.

Eden knows that she must save Ryan, but he's under tight security--and getting caught would mean life imprisonment for the both of them. All Eden wants is Ryan, but is it possible to be together when it seems the whole universe is against them?

Fans of Claudia Gray, Amie Kaufman, and Meagan Spooner will be captivated by this epic cross-century romance where love bends the laws of time and reason.

Purchase Chasing Stars at Amazon
Purchase Chasing Stars at IndieBound
View Chasing Stars on Goodreads

* * * *


Flying
by Carrie Jones
Hardcover
Tor Teen
Released 7/19/2016

New York Times bestselling author Carrie Jones introduces sassy alien-hunting cheerleader Mana in Flying, the launch of a sparkling new YA SF series.

People have always treated seventeen-year-old Mana as someone in need of protection. She's used to being coddled, being an only child, but it's hard to imagine anything could ever happen in her small-town, normal life. As her mother's babying gets more stifling than ever, she's looking forward to cheering at the big game and getting out of the house for a while.

But that night, Mana's life goes haywire.

First, the hot guy she's been crushing on at school randomly flips out and starts spitting acid during the game. Then they get into a knockdown, drag-out fight in the locker room, during which Mana finds herself leaping around like a kangaroo on steroids. As a flyer on the cheerleading squad, she's always been a good jumper, but this is a bit much. By the time she gets home and finds her house trashed and an alien in the garage, Mana starts to wonder if her mother had her reasons for being overprotective.

It turns out, Mana's frumpy, timid mom is actually an alien hunter, and now she's missing--taking a piece of technology with her that everyone wants their hands on, both human and alien. Now her supposed partner, a guy that Mana has never met or heard of (and who seems way too young and way too arrogant to be hunting aliens), has shown up, ordering Mana to come with him. Now, on her own for the first time, Mana will have to find a way to save her mother--and maybe the world--and hope she's up to the challenge.

Purchase Flying at Amazon
Purchase Flying at IndieBound
View Flying on Goodreads

* * * *


Smash & Grab
by Amy Christine Parker
Hardcover
Random House Books for Young Readers
Released 7/19/2016

Ocean’s Eleven meets the star-crossed lovers of West Side Story. Grab some popcorn and get ready for an adrenaline-filled heist!

LEXI is a rich girl who loves a good rush. Whether it’s motorcycle racing or BASE jumping off a building in downtown Los Angeles, the only times she feels alive are when she and her friends are executing one of their dares. After her father’s arrest, Lexi doesn’t think twice about going undercover at his bank to steal the evidence that might clear his name. She enlists her hacker brother and her daredevil friends to plan a clever heist.

CHRISTIAN is a boy from the wrong side of the tracks. The local gang has blackmailed him and his friends into robbing banks, and he is desperate for a way out. When the boss promises that one really big job will be the last he ever has to do, Christian jumps at the chance for freedom. In fact, he’s just met a girl at the bank who might even prove useful. . . .

Two heists. One score. The only thing standing in their way is each other.

Told in alternating points of view, this caper is full of romance and fast-paced fun. Hand to fans of Perfect Chemistry, The Conspiracy of Us, and Heist Society.

Purchase Smash & Grab at Amazon
Purchase Smash & Grab at IndieBound
View Smash & Grab on Goodreads


10 comments:

  1. looks like some good books coming out.

    ReplyDelete
  2. So excited for Beth Revis' new book.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Smash and Grab sounds like a book to take me away for hours of fun!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh Smash and Grab and A World Without You both sound fantastic, and I have heard great things! Thanks so much for the chance :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. A World Without You is in my most anticipated top 5 reads for 2016. Can't wait for this!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I got to read Smash and Grab and I loved it! I am also super excited for Flying as well!!

    ReplyDelete
  7. UGH! So many books, so little time. I need to learn to read faster.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love Revis's Across the Universe series and can't wait to read A World Without You!!

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)