Saturday, May 14, 2016

0 Darcy Woods, author of SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS, on figuring out your definition of success

We're thrilled to have Darcy Woods join us to share more about debut novel SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS.


Darcy, what was your inspiration for writing SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS?

It was a dark and starry night... No, really. It was! Nearly all of my stories spring from that magical moment when I first glimpse my main character. SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS was no exception. So there I was, stargazing while swatting away mosquitos the size of caribou, when I had a thought: If the stars could speak, what would they say? That's when Wilamena Carlisle crash-landed in my imagination and whispered, I speak the language of the stars. I can tell you. Well, one look at her cateye glasses, finger waves, and 40s vintage dress, and I knew--this girl had a story to tell! Wil was simply a FORCE from the moment I "saw" her.



What book or books would most resonate with readers who love your book--or visa versa?

ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins (for funny and swoon)

TO ALL THE BOYS I'VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han (for motherly loss and swoon)

THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT by Jennifer E. Smith (for fate and swoon)

Yes, ladies and gents, you will note there is a common denominator of SWOON here. But in addition to the romance, there are also elements of hilarity, poignancy, and questioning your lifelong beliefs. (Plus there's a questioning of choice in underwear in chapter 1, but I digress.)

What advice would you most like to pass along to other writers?


My advice is to seriously ponder this question at a marrow level: What is your definition of success? Because for the vast majority of writers, you will hear the word "no" an insane amount of times. In some cases *cough* over *cough* 200. So success to me has nothing to do with contracts or money or New York Times bestselling lists (although that all sounds mighty fine). It is in the ability to protect the fire that blazes in your writer soul from being extinguished. And then in the face of whatever your adversity...you manage to burn brighter. THAT is success to me.

What do you hope readers will take away from SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS?

When readers turn that last and final page, it's my sincerest hope that they find a smile on their face. And in their heart. The world can feel so full of darkness. It was my intention to create something that offered light. An incredibly wise man (yep, I'm about to quote Gandhi) once said, "Be the change you wish to see in the world." I choose to do this through the stories I tell. And if you happen to snort-laugh while reading, all the better. :)

ABOUT THE BOOK


Summer of Supernovas
by Darcy Woods
Hardcover
Crown Books for Young Readers
Released 5/10/2016

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

Purchase Summer of Supernovas at Amazon
Purchase Summer of Supernovas at IndieBound
View Summer of Supernovas on Goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

DarcyYoung adult author Darcy Woods had three big loves in grade school: Reading, writing, and pizza day. Some things never change. She lives in Michigan with her madly supportive husband, two tuxedo cats (who overdress for everything) and a closet full of neatly organized shoes. Once upon a time, she served in a US Army aviation unit and threw live grenades. Now she throws words.

Darcy’s Golden Heart®-winning debut YA romance, SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS, comes out from Random House/Crown May 10, 2016.

--

Have you had a chance to read SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS yet? What is your definition of success? Do you burn brighter in the face of adversity? Share your thoughts about the interview in the comments!

Happy reading,

Jocelyn, Shelly, Martina, Anisaa, Sam, Erin, Susan, Lindsey, Sarah, and Kristin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)