Monday, June 29, 2015

18 THREE Giveaways plus New YALIT Releases Week of 6/29 with Author Interviews

Does anyone else think it's crazy that by the time this week is over, we'll be officially in the second half of the year? There are three new releases in the world of YA this week, and, because we love you so much, we're also giving away three books that have already released - just because we can!

Happy reading,

Lindsey, Martina, Sam, Jocelyn, Erin, Lisa, Shelly, Susan, Elizabeth, Kristin, Jen, Sandra and Anisaa



YA BOOK GIVEAWAYS THIS WEEK

Sadly, we don't have any New Releases to give away this week... but we're making up for it with three amazing books that we loved so much we just had to share!

The Stars Never Rise
by Rachel Vincent
Hardcover
U.S. Only
Delacourte Press
Released 6/9/2015


The Devil You Know
by Trish Doller
Hardcover
U.S. Only
Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Released 6/2/2015
Read Trish Doller's guest post on courage in writing.



Off the Page
by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
Hardcover
U.S. Only
Delacourte Press
Released 5/19/2015
Read Jodi and Samantha's guest post on writing with a family member.

YA BOOK GIVEAWAYS LAST WEEK: WINNERS

The Leveller by Julia Durango: Christina R.
A Girl Undone by Catherine Linka: Danielle P.
The Rules by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguie: Sarah K.

MORE YOUNG ADULT FICTION IN STORES NEXT WEEK WITH AUTHOR INTERVIEWS

Faking Perfect
by Rebecca Phillips
Paperback
Kensington
Released 6/30/2015

When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly okay with her rules:

1. Avoid her at school.

2. Keep his mouth shut about what they do together.

3. Never tease her about her friend (and unrequited crush) Ben. 

Because with his integrity and values and golden boy looks, Ben can never find out about what she’s been doing behind closed doors with Tyler. Or that her mom’s too busy drinking and chasing losers to pay the bills. Or that Lexi’s dad hasn’t been a part of her life for the last thirteen years. But with Tyler suddenly breaking the rules, Ben asking her out, and her dad back in the picture, how long will she be able to go on faking perfect?

Author Question: What is your favorite thing about Faking Perfect?

While I was working on this book, my favorite thing was writing scenes between my main character, Lexi, and the school bad boy,Tyler. There aren't a lot of scenes with them together, but when one came up, I tried to make it count. Now that the book is about to be released, I think my favorite thing about it is the various relationships. There are three boys in Lexi's life--a best friend, a boy she's using, and a boy she's crushed on for years--and they each bring something different to her life. I also loved creating the tense, complicated relationship between Lexi and her estranged father. All in all, I wouldn't call FAKING PERFECT just a romance...there's so much more to it than that. It's also about family.

Purchase Faking Perfect at Amazon
Purchase Faking Perfect at IndieBound
View Faking Perfect on Goodreads

MORE YOUNG ADULT NOVELS NEW IN STORES NEXT WEEK

Between Us and the Moon
by Rebecca Maizel
Hardcover
HarperTeen
Released 6/30/2015

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation.

Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she's also lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett.

But after a traumatic end to the school year, Sarah goes to Cape Cod for the summer with her family, determined to grow up. It's there that she meets gorgeous, older college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl like Scarlett. He thinks she's older, too—and she doesn't correct him.

For Sarah, it's a summer of firsts. Before she knows what's happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this romantic and heartfelt coming-of-age novel about how life and love are impossible to predict.

Purchase Between Us and the Moon at Amazon
Purchase Between Us and the Moon at IndieBound
View Between Us and the Moon on Goodreads


* * * *

Shadowshaper
by Daniel José Older
Hardcover
Arthur A. Levine Books
Released 6/30/2015

Cassandra Clare meets Caribbean legend in SHADOWSHAPER, an action-packed urban fantasy from a bold new talent.

Sierra Santiago was looking forward to a fun summer of making art, hanging out with her friends, and skating around Brooklyn. But then a weird zombie guy crashes the first party of the season. Sierra's near-comatose abuelo begins to say "No importa" over and over. And when the graffiti murals in Bed-Stuy start to weep.... Well, something stranger than the usual New York mayhem is going on.

Sierra soon discovers a supernatural order called the Shadowshapers, who connect with spirits via paintings, music, and stories. Her grandfather once shared the order's secrets with an anthropologist, Dr. Jonathan Wick, who turned the Caribbean magic to his own foul ends. Now Wick wants to become the ultimate Shadowshaper by killing all the others, one by one. With the help of her friends and the hot graffiti artist Robbie, Sierra must dodge Wick's supernatural creations, harness her own Shadowshaping abilities, and save her family's past, present, and future.

Purchase Shadowshaper at Amazon
Purchase Shadowshaper at IndieBound
View Shadowshaper on Goodreads

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

18 comments:

  1. The Devil You Know seems such an interesting read! ;)

    Carolina M on rafflecopter

    ReplyDelete
  2. I heard good things about Jodi and Samantha's book. The concept is very unique :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Awesome authors!

    thank you so very much :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. All of these books look amazing! Thank you for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Devil You Know sounds exciting, it reminds me of Black Ice! Thank you for the giveaway <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete
  6. Nicole WetheringtonJune 29, 2015 at 5:54 PM

    I really hope to win!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  7. All three of the books sound fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Love these books! Thanks again for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  9. some look interesting

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'd really like to get The Devil You Know and my wife is a huge fan of Jodi Picoult so she'd love a copy of Off the Page. Either book would be great, thanks for the chance to win them.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Great stuff this week. Thanks for the post and the chance to win.

    ReplyDelete
  12. AH such fabulous books! Thank you so, so much for the giveaway, I have been looking forward to these, especially The Stars Never Rise!!

    ReplyDelete
  13. they look like really good reads.

    ReplyDelete
  14. the stars never rise sounds like a winner to me (i've been waiting a new series from Rachel)

    ReplyDelete
  15. I love Jodi Picoult! Her books are memorable and thought-provoking!

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)