Saturday, May 23, 2015

1 Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer, authors of OFF THE PAGE, on writing with a family member

We're honored to have mother-daughter writing team Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer join us to chat about the writing process for their new novel OFF THE PAGE.

What was your inspiration for writing OFF THE PAGE?

We knew that we left things hanging at the end of BETWEEN THE LINES -- what happens to Edgar?  What's it like for Oliver in the real world?  Tons of readers wrote to ask us -- but we had a very real world obstacle in our way, namely, Sammy was in college at Vassar and didn't have time to write a novel.  One day Sammy called home to say she missed writing.  Jodi said, "You write every day!"  but she meant creative writing.  Sammy suggested writing the sequel the summer after her freshman year of college -- so that's exactly what we did.



What scene was really hard for you to write and why, and is that the one of which you are most proud? Or is there another scene you particularly love?

The last day we were writing, we really wanted to kill each other.  If Jodi said the sky was blue, Sammy said, "No, it's GREEN."  We were writing the little interchapters that dot the book, and they should have been easy -- but they were so, so difficult!  One of the scenes we are really proud of creating is the copyright cave -- the book plays around a lot with who owns a story and who creates it - the reader or the writer.  We like the idea that there might be a hidden spot in a story where all the author's imagination resides.  A scene we laughed a lot at when we were writing was the double date between Chris, Edgar, Jules, and Delilah.

What's your writing ritual like? Do you listen to music? Work at home or at a coffee shop or the library, etc?

When we write, it's side by side in Jodi's office.  We take turns typing and we literally speak the book out loud, line by line.  For OFF THE PAGE, because we were working on a limited amount of time (Sammy's summer break) we worked for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.  If you think it's hard to get along with your mother in general -- imagine spending that much time with her every single day!!

ABOUT THE BOOK

Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
Hardcover
Delacorte Press
Released 
5/19/2015

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and coauthor, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.

Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. It’s a miracle that seems perfect at first—but there are complications. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to play Oliver’s role in the pages of Delilah’s favorite book. But just when it seems that the plan will work, everything gets turned upside down.

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as the companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

Purchase Off the Page at Amazon
Purchase Off the Page at IndieBound
View Off the Page on Goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

authors Jodi Picoult and  Samantha van LeerJodi Picoult is the bestselling author of of twenty-three novels and the YA novel Between The Lines (2012) co-written with her daughter Samantha van Leer, and The Storyteller (2013). Her last eight novels have debuted at number one on the New York Times bestseller list. Her highly anticipated new novel, Leaving Time, was released in the US, Canada, and Australia October 14, 2014; it will be released in the UK on 4th November.

 Samantha van Leer is a sophomore at Vassar College majoring in psychology with a minor in human development. She has four dogs: Alvin, Harvey, Dudley, and Oliver—for whom the prince in this story is named.


What did you think of our interview with Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer, authors of OFF THE PAGE? Let us know in the comments!

Happy reading,


Martina, Jocelyn, Shelly, Jan, Lisa, Susan, and Erin

1 comment:

  1. ♥ I am so happy to share this wonderful testimony about Dr Brave, my name is Mellisa Jefferson I am 32 years old, I live in Florida USA, I am happily married to Sowers Jefferson with three kids we got married in 2004 I am a banker but due to some certain family conditions I had to quit my job so I could have time for my family my husband works in a construction company not long ago around may 2015 my husband started to behave in a way i could not understand, i was very Confused by the way he treat me and the Kids. Later that month he did not come home again and he called me that he want a divorce, i asked him what have i Done wrong to deserve this from him, all he was saying is that he want a divorce That he hate me and do not want to see Me again in his life, i was mad and also Frustrated do not know what to do,i was Sick for more than 4 weeks because of the divorce. i love him so much he was everything to me without him my life is Incomplete. i told my sister and she told me to contact a spell caster, i never believed in all this spell casting of a thing. i just want to try if something will come out of it. i contacted Dr Brave for the return of my husband to me, he told me that my husband have Been taken by another woman, that she cast a spell on him that is why he hate me and also want us to divorce. then he told me that he have to cast a spell on him that will make him return to Me and the kids, he casted the spell and After 27hours my husband called me and He told me that i should forgive him, he Started to apologize on phone and said That he still loves me that he did not know what happen to him that he left me. it was the spell that Dr Brave casted on him that brought him back to me today, i and my family Are now happy again today. thank you Dr Brave for what you have done for me i would have been nothing Today if not for your great spell. i want You my friends who are passing through All this kind of love problem of getting Back their husband, wife , or ex boyfriend and girlfriend to contact him on this email: bravespellcaster@gmail.com , web site:http://enchantedscents.tripod.com/lovespell/ . and you will see that your problem will be solved Without any delay or effect cell number +2348072370762 Thanks for reading..

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)