Saturday, March 21, 2015

1 Jenn Marie Thorne, author of THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT, on driving the story in a visceral way

THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT is Jenn Marie Thorne's debut novel, and we're happy she stopped by to share more about it.

Jenn, what scene in THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT was really hard for you to write and why, and is that the one of which you are most proud? Or is there another scene you particularly love?

Without giving away any spoilers, there's a scene late in the book when Kate is sitting in her room with her stepmother, Meg, basically hashing out all of the things that have gone wrong over the course of the story. She's really raw and vulnerable in that scene--the trick was to find the right balance of Kate being strong and needing answers and also being young and lost and apologetic. There were a lot of scenes that hurt my heart to write, but that one just had so much tension without any easy answers or resolutions.

How long did you work on THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT?

I wrote the first draft of TWSoR during NaNo, after spending that October prepping, researching and outlining extensively. Then I did a quick December revision and sent it to some beta readers. I did two more revisions before sending it to agents. Then another revision before it went out to editors. And then, of course, an unbelievable number of revision rounds with my editor. This is something I don't think many pre-pubbed authors realize--once you get a book deal, your work is just beginning.

What did this book teach you about writing or about yourself?

I learned a ton from working with my editor. You get a really clear picture of your writer tics and habits that you didn't even know you had. One big adjustment I've made to my writing is that I used to put in quick exposition sections, in order to, I thought, pick up the pace in the story. My incredible editor quite rightly pointed out that they were "tune out" moments for the reader, doing the opposite of what I'd intended for them to do. Now, when I catch myself cheating by writing those sort of bridge sequences, I hit delete and replace them with action-dialogue scenes that get the information across and drive the story in a more visceral way.

Was there an AHA! moment along your road to publication where something suddenly sank in and you felt you had the key to writing a novel? What was it?

At some point, working on the novel I wrote before THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT, I realized that I personally needed to write every single day, so that it became a constant habit. Some days I only wrote one sentence--but it was enough to keep my mind whirring, so that everything reminded me of my book. I would think about my book while I was driving, in the shower, walking the dog. I was constantly working, even if I wasn't sitting at that keyboard. But if I skipped a day, my brain turned itself off. So now, when I'm drafting or doing a big revision, I make sure to at least open the document and type one thing before I'm allowed to go to bed each night.

ABOUT THE BOOK



The Wrong Side of Right
by Jenn Marie Thorne
Hardcover
Dial Books
Released 3/17/2015

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

Purchase The Wrong Side of Right at Amazon
Purchase The Wrong Side of Right at IndieBound
View The Wrong Side of Right on Goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

At Solar by CaitlynJenn Marie Thorne writes YA fiction from her home in beautiful Gulfport, Florida, alongside her dashing husband, her two daring toddlers, and her trusty hound Molly. An NYU-Tisch grad with a BFA in Drama, Jenn still enjoys making a fool of herself on at least a weekly basis. Other hobbies include writing about herself in the third-person, studying classical voice, learning languages, and traveling the world with her family.

Her debut novel, THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT, is coming March 17, 2015 from Dial Books for Young Readers (Penguin).

1 comment:

  1. Congratulations on your novel! I love what you said about always working; it is so true that writing even one sentence a day helps keep us on track and prevents our brains from shutting off.

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)