Tuesday, January 13, 2015

30 What It Feels (And Looks Like) to Be a Writer -- Plus I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN Giveaway

I took the copyedited manuscript for PERSUASION to UPS last night and sent it back to my editor--and I have to admit, that this is the hardest revision I have EVER done. And no one asked me to do it. In fact, there may be some hair pulling in certain editorial offices, and I'm going to be groveling for days weeks months for making so many changes.

But the version I am sending back, even after catching some motivation issues, adding some backstory from COMPULSION for people just coming into the series, and addressing queries from my copyeditor, I still managed to trim almost 4,000 words out.

4,000 words.

Those words came out of the manuscript bloodies and screaming, and damn, they fought not to go. But I won.

Was it worth it? I think so. I hope so.

Tonight, this is what I look like. (Okay, I've kind of looked like this for weeks, but still . . . )



And this is what it feels like to be a writer. Every. Single. Draft Manuscript Book.


Hoping I got to 5 overall, but gotta say there are some brief glimmers of 6. (And I don't often say that about my stuff.)

And then there was this, which is silly but still made me laugh.



Also, psst, if you haven't got COMPULSION yet, my publisher is running a promotion at B&N and Amazon for the e-book. You can get it for $1.99!

This Week's Giveaway

I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN

by Jandy Nelson


A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell 

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What About You? 

Do you ever get to 6 with anything creative? Or are you like me and your words are never good enough? Leave a comment!

30 comments:

  1. Congrats on finishing your copyedits! That must be very exciting (though I'm sure it was loads of work). :)

    Also, I've been dying to read I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN, so...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's sooooooo good! And you'll see. It's always both nail biting and a huge relief to turn an edit in! : ) In this case, I was super nervous, but my editor is a champ.

      Delete
  2. I'm sure it will rock, just like Compulsion!!

    And it is awesome! :)

    thank you so very much :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! Sending you a huge hug for that. XO!

      Delete
  3. Can't wait - I know it's going to be fabulous too!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. <3333 Thanks, Jemi! I hope it turns out. It's always impossible for me to tell. I want to go back to that phase that my kids are in now, where everything they do is wonderful. Oh, to have that kind of confidence (or delusion) -- Of course, THEY are wonderful. (Proud mom.)

      Delete
  4. It must have been a wonderful feeling to send that off. Congrats.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Rosi! Good and bad. You know that feeling right?

      Delete
  5. I believe you deserve around of applause! Your perseverance is phenomenal! Unfortunately, I've never bypassed step #4 in writing one of my stories. Maybe one day . .. . Congrats!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Huvi! And you will. I keep saying this, but it bears repeating. Doctors, lawyers, violinists, even teachers train for YEARS before they are turned loose on their chosen professions. Why do we think it takes less time to write something that has few rules and much fiercer competition? Hang in there and keep working, and give yourself credit for all you're already doing!

      Delete
  6. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I wish I was ore creative but i alway end up crossing over to the dark side lol. I do want to read this book though so thanks for the chance!! *hugs Martina*
    <3 Britt

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're a reader, and we need those as much as we need writers. So thank you for that! And you'll love I'll Give You the Sun!

      Delete
  8. I really want to read this book. Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!! Have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Congratulations on tackling that tough rewrite and finishing. I'm sure it's going to be great. Compulsion was so atmospheric I can't wait to enter that world again. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Tricia! I can't wait to share it and see what people think. The atmosphere is the same, but it gets in to the gifts and the history even more, with lots more magic and eeriness, but obviously not enough to give us all the answers.

      Delete
  11. Congrats for finishing your copy edits! You must feel a sort of sense of relief. I'm sure it's going to be a big success like Compulsion! Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Natalie! LOL! It's a huge relief. And I truly, truly hope that it will end up being successful. The last thing I want to do is disappoint anyone who enjoyed Compulsion!

      Delete
  12. CONGRATS on finishing those copyedits you worked so hard on!! Wow, and trimming 4K words. Go, YOU!! Can't wait to read the next book. :)

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)