Thursday, August 22, 2013

2 Character Bucket List - Callum Harris from UNDERCURRENT by Paul Blackwell

Sixteen year-old Callum Harris only had one thing on his bucket list: getting out of Crystal Falls. Because ever since moving to town four years ago, his once happy life has gone seriously downhill. Now his mother and father have separated and his older brother Cole is going off the rails. Were it not for his two friends Willow and Bryce, Callum thinks he would have gone insane by now.

But then suddenly Callum awakes in a hospital bed, unable to move a muscle. His last memory is pure terror, of going over the waterfall and being pounded to the bottom of the river. Only when Bryce appears and tries to smother him with a pillow does he finally regain control of his own body.

Emerging from the coma however, Callum finds himself in a strange and unfamiliar place. Everyone around sees him in a new and often sinister light. People want to hurt him. The cops want to arrest him. And so with each mind-bending new revelation, his bucket list keeps growing—both longer and more imperative as he edges closer to actually kicking it.

Before it’s too late, Callum must:

· Find out why on earth his best friend would try to kill him.

· Discover the identity of the shadowy figure that keeps following him.

· Convince Willow he isn’t some criminal psychopath, but someone who knows and loves her.

· Uncover the cause of the terrible tragedy that has now befallen Cole, and then somehow undo it.

These are the top items on Callum’s list. It’s either that or just let go—and start embracing whatever has pulled him under.



About the Book

In Undercurrent, Paul Blackwell’s fast-paced YA thriller, sixteen-year-old Callum Harris survives a plummet over a waterfall, but wakes to find himself in a life that’s totally different from the one he knew.

His parents were separated. Now they’re together. His brother Cole was a sports star. Now he’s paralyzed. And Callum, who used to be quiet and sort of unpopular, is suddenly a jock with two hot girls after him.

But there’s one difference that matters more than all the others combined: His former best friend wants Callum dead. And he isn’t the only one.

Tense and original, Undercurrent is a psychological thrill-ride with sci-fi elements that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Neal Shusterman.

AmazonIndieboundGoodreads




About the Author

Paul was born and reside in the city of Montreal, in the exotic province of Quebec, in the friendly country of Canada. Montreal is a nice place to live, especially if you can’t choose between profusely sweating and completely freezing. Because in a single calendar year, you can expect a lot of both.

He's done a lot of different jobs, from keeping the stage door of a haunted old Scottish theater to pushing laundry carts along dark tunnels under an insane asylum. His last job involved pretending to write thick manuals nobody really read for products few people ever used.

He now writes for a variety of ages and audiences. Like most everyone, he like sunshine, puppy dogs, and long walks on the beach.

Facebook | Twitter

2 comments:

  1. I heard about this book a few weeks ago and I'm so intrigued by the idea of it. It just sounds so different. I can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a very intriguing thriller. Callum has one thing on his bucket list when things start out...but oh how things can change.

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)