Friday, July 19, 2013

32 Young Adult Pick and Mix 7/20/13 plus giveaway of A MATTER OF DAYS by AMBER KIZER


 Thought for the Week





Young Adult Novel of the Week




Katherine brings Anne Boleyn to life with verve and intelligence. And it does it in a fresh way that makes Anne her own person and not just an afterthought in the history of Henry VIII. This is the best kind of historial novel!

I also loved:







Like Free Young Adult Novels? 

Complete the form below to win a copy of A Matter of Days by Amber Kizer




On Day 56 of the pandemic called BluStar, sixteen-year-old Nadia's mother dies, leaving her responsible for her younger brother Rabbit. They secretly received antivirus vaccines from their uncle, but most people weren't as lucky. Their deceased father taught them to adapt and survive whatever comes their way. That's their plan as they trek from Seattle to their grandfather's survivalist compound in West Virginia. Using practical survival techniques, they make their way through a world of death and destruction until they encounter an injured dog; Zack, a street kid from Los Angeles; and other survivors who are seldom what they seem. Illness, infections, fatigue, and meager supplies have become a way of life. Still, it will be worth it once they arrive at the designated place on the map they have memorized. But what if no one is there to meet them?

Buy on Amazon | Buy on IndieBound | View on Goodreads


And here are winners for last week's TWO copies of THE SECRET INGREDIENT:

Rain Jeys and bn100




For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jay Asher's 13 Reasons Whycomes a journey of family, food, romance, and self-discovery as Olivia, a teen chef living in L.A., finds a vintage cookbook and begins a search for her birthmother that will change her life forever.
Olivia doesn’t believe in psychics. But the summer before her senior year of high school, she meets one in an elevator.

This summer will be pivotal, the psychic warns. Please remember—all your choices are connected.
Olivia loves her life in Silverlake, Los Angeles, but lately, something’s been missing. And after getting this strange advice, her world begins to change. A new job leads Olivia to a gorgeous, mysterious boy named Theo. And as Olivia cooks the recipes from a vintage cookbook she stumbles upon, she begins to wonder if the mother she’s never known might be the secret ingredient she’s been lacking.
           

Young Adult Reader of the Week:   

Marcy S. Hatch from MaineWords


Marcy lives in Midcoast Maine. She can walk downtown to the Damariscotta River and the award winning Maine Coast Bookshop, which has a webcam on its roof and a cafe on the sidewalk.
 
 Follow Marcy on Twitter

        
* Want to be the reader of the week next week? Leave a comment on our Thursday or Friday posts! 

  
Young Adult Writer/Blogger of the Week: 


Theresa Milstein of Theresa's Tales

Theresa has several short pieces published in anthologies and journals, such as Vine Leaves Literary Journal, 100 Stories for Queensland, 100 RPM, Fangtales, and From Stage Door Shadows. While her published works are for adults, she primarily writes for children, and she's active in the New England chapter of SCBWI (Society for Book Writers and Illustrators). She lives in Arlington, Massachusetts with her husband, two children, a dog-like cat, and a cat-like dog. For her day job, she works as an aide in a public school, which gives her ample opportunity to observe teens and tweens in their natural habitat. Follow Theresa on Twitter 

* Want to be the blogger of the week next week? Leave a comment. I'll pick from among the bloggers who leave comments here on the blog today through Wednesday.

Writing Tip of the Week
   
                   


    

    
            
Writing Inspiration     

   
         


                       


More Writing Inspiration

Life Inspiration

Here's a beautiful, important post that applies to writing, family, and life in general. You only go around once. Stop and enjoy. The Day I Stopped Saying Hurry Up

Tired of all the bad news? It's not ALL bad. This week there was this: Two Teenagers Chase Kidnapping Suspect on Bikes and Save 5-year-old Girl via CNN


Publishing News and Trends                         

It's been all JK Rowling all the time this week. Here are a few of those and my other favorite articles.

Just for Smiles

              
What About You?                     

What are you reading? Writing? Have any quotes or thoughts you'd like to share? Did you find or write any book reviews or blog posts you want to let people know about?

32 comments:

  1. So many conventions that I want to go to!!! I'm always so jealous this time of year. I'm so excited for The Cuckoo's Calling!!!! Just started it and am really liking it so far :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Vivien,

      Oooh, I'm glad you're enjoying The Cuckoo's Calling. Maybe i need to move it further up my reading list. Right now, I'm rubbing my hands together in anticipation of reading Susan Dennard's A DARKNESS STRANGE AND LOVELY!

      Delete
  2. Ooh, A MATTER OF DAYS sounds unique and very cool. It wasn't on my radar before, so thank you for featuring it today. Also, Chuck Wendig's post on stakes is exactly that I needed to read this week -- perfect timing!

    I'm loving these weekly Pick and Mix posts!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Katy,

      Chuck's posts are always amazing, aren't they? He somehow manages to boil things down to the bare bones and make it accessible in a way that I see them in a whole new way. Maybe I'm just thick headed, but I often have to hear things about 47 different ways before they stick. :)

      Delete
  3. I enjoyed "Let the Sky Fall", as well. Lots of good inspiration in the post. i especially like that quote at the top about doing things you are afraid of. It's very applicable to me right now.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Kayeleen,

      Is it querying you're nervous about, or something entirely different?

      I'm starting in on writing the second book in my series, and I could write VOLUMES about fear right now. On the other hand, I probably shouldn't do that, because it would only give me an opportunity to procrastinate some more. :)

      Face the fear. Kick it in the face. That's the only way we can get through it.

      Hang in there!

      Delete
  4. There are many conferences that I want to go to!!! I'm habitually so envious these time. I am also so excited for The Cuckoo's Calling!!!. I like Theresa anthologies and journals, such as Vine Leaves Literary and many more.

    Regards,
    Content Writing Services

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Prasant,

      I'm excited about the Cuckoo's Calling. I just picked it as my book for book club in February. That's kind of sad actually, but that's how far in advance my reading list is booked :)

      Delete
  5. Love that thought and needed to hear it. I really liked Let the Sky Fall too. Wow! That's a great list of books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Natalie,

      I loved that thought so much. I need it these days, and I suspect many of us writers need it too. This gig takes a lot of courage. It's so easy to think that because we are sitting behind a computer it takes less courage than jumping off a roof or rapelling down into a cave (can you tell I've been watching THE HERO? :)) but putting ourselves on paper (or on a blog) and letting others judge our naked words is just as much a leap of trust and faith.

      I salute everyone who manages to do it!

      Delete
  6. Can't wait to read Shannon's Let the Sky Fall! Theresa & Marcy are awesome choices!!! Love that May Angelou quote - I often use that in my classroom :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Jemi,

      Are you a Maya Angelou fan, too? I might have known :).

      I waited way too long to read LET THE SKY FALL. And I'm so glad that I didn't wait any longer. She's amazing.

      Delete
  7. Thanks for the mention! I am busy editing (currently ferreting out all those repetitive words) and trying to stay cool :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi,

      Trying to stay cool these days is kind of an impossible task. I am finding that it makes it harder to come by the concentration I need to write and edit. Does it effect you that way?

      Hope you wrangle those repetitive words into submission quickly and manage to beat hte heat!

      Delete
  8. All these books look awesome. Would love to win one! Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Mary,

      It's always a case of too many books, too little time, isn't it? I can't believe how many wonderful books I constantly find. And there just aren't enough hours in the day to read them all.

      Good luck in the giveaway! And thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

      Delete
  9. I love those quotes. :) I hope every writer has the chance to make their readers feel something.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi,

      Isn't that the best part of writing? I think it's also the scariest, though. In order to make the reader really feel something, we have to feel it ourselves, and that can me letting go and getting into the story on a much deeper level than is often comfortable. Hard, but worthwhile. :)

      Hope you did something fantastic this weekend!

      Delete
  10. Thanks for having the giveaway! Thanks also for the inspirational quotes! : )

    ReplyDelete
    Replies

    1. Hi,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I love quotes! (Obviously :)) They always help me get in the mood to do the hard work of writing, especially when it's hard to get my brain in gear.

      Delete
  11. An amazingly informative post. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much! I'm still fine tuning the format, so feedback is invaluable.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

      Delete
  12. These look wonderful and I hope I can find time to read some of them!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Rosi,

      That's the hard thing about being a writer, isn't it? We find out about all the great books, but we're already juggling so many things that finding time to read them is hard. On the other hand, reading is part of the job description, so it ought to come with a non-guilt card.

      Delete
  13. Love this new format, especially with the inspiring quotes. And love the YA chart.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Stina,

      YAY! I really appreciate the feedback on the format. I'm actually not sure it is taking me any less time to prepare, but I wanted it to be accessible for both readers and writers. Still fine tuning, though, so any suggestions would be fantastic!

      Delete
  14. Lots of wonderful books. I would love to go to a convention. Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Victoria,

      Conventions are a lot of fun but exhausting too. I am really sad that I'm not getting to go to RWA or SCBWI-LA this year, but hope to get in there again next year.

      Hope you had a fantastic weekend.

      Delete
  15. Replies
    1. Isn't that awesome? I had to print it out so I can refer back to it. :)

      Delete
  16. I love the reading flowchart! Thanks for introducing me to some new books! And for the giveaway! :D

    ReplyDelete
  17. Wow, the book in the giveaway sounds so good!

    I'm Blogger of the Week. YaY! So cool. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete

Tell us what you think. We'd love to hear from you! :)